Your search returned no results

Try another search term or view Stack Exchange, where we have active conversations with Developers about GIS.

    http://gis.stackexchange.com/
    Support channel in Stack Exchange

    Thousands of developers around the world have helped make CartoDB a success, and we have active conversations with them about GIS in Stack Exchange.

    Go to Stack Exchange

    User Privileges

    Enterprise team members with “user” privileges have all basic CARTO Builder features. The following additional functionality is also available for Enterprise users.

    Dashboard

    The organization dashboard enables you to navigate team activity. You can view and monitor your own maps and data, and access datasets and visualizations published or shared by you, or your team members.

    Your Maps

    The maps dashboard enables you to search for maps by tag or name, view maps you have created, view maps that have been shared with you for collaboration, and view maps that you have liked from the community. You can change the sort order of your maps on your dashboard.

    Your Maps

    Your Datasets

    Similar to your maps dashboard, your datasets dashboard enables you to search for datasets by name or tag, view your own (and shared datasets), view datasets that you have liked from the community, and access public datasets from the Data Library. You can also change the sort order of your datasets.

    Your Datasets

    Creating Datasets and Maps

    For Enterprise account users, the workflow to create datasets and maps is identical to the standard CARTO Builder workflow.

    Enterprise Privacy Settings for Datasets and Maps

    • For details about how to select privacy options for your dataset, see Dataset Privacy
    • For details about how to select privacy options for your map, see Map Privacy
    • For the Enterprise specific feature related to changing privacy options and sharing datasets and maps with your team, see Share with your colleagues

    Note: Dataset privacy is stored separately from Map privacy. This enables you to protect each layer of data within a map, and also determine how you want to share the map.

    Share with your colleagues

    To share your own maps and datasets with team members, you can select the sharing options through the privacy settings:

    1. From the respective dashboard, select a map or dataset so that it is highlighted

    2. Click the Change privacy option

      Change privacy option for Enterprise users

      The privacy options appear. Select the privacy option for your map or dataset.

    3. Click Share it with your colleagues

      Share it with your colleagues link

      The Write and Read options for accessing the selected map or dataset appear. The default settings for your organization are displayed and controlled by the Enterprise Owner. You can search for team members by username or email, or select a team member from your group. All maps are read-only (this is intentional by design, so that the original map owner can prevent any unwanted edits). Datasets can have read and write access.

    4. Click the slider button to activate the Write and/or Read access for the team member. If the Enterprise user is part of a group, they can share the map or dataset with the group that they belong to

      Write or Read access for sharing maps or datasets with Enterprise users

      Note: The Enterprise owner sets the default permission settings for groups. You cannot override these settings if the owner has disabled them for your organization.

    5. Click SAVE SETTINGS to close the privacy access options for your colleagues

      Your privacy options indicate the shared users for the map or dashboard. If you want to change or edit these access options, select Open sharing settings.

      Open sharing settings link

    6. Click SAVE SETTINGS to close the Privacy options

      Once a map or dataset is shared, the Enterprise user will see the map or dataset in the Shared with you link, located from their Maps and Datasets dashboards.

      Shared with you

    7. If your map is published, update it to show your edits

    Publishing Enterprise Maps

    Enterprise users can access the sharing settings directly from the publishing options. If your map is published, update it to show any edits. Only Enterprise users assigned write access (Builder) can publish maps. User types are set in the Organization Settings by Enterprise Owner.

    1. From an open map in the Builder, click PUBLISH to open the publishing options

      Share an Enterprise map in the Builder

      The publishing options display the SHARE WITH COLLEAGUES and the PUBLISH settings. You can toggle between these settings directly from the publishing options.

      Enterprise publishing options to share with colleagues

      Note: SHARE WITH COLLEAGUES is selected by default, from which you can manage who you want to share your map with.

    2. Switch to the PUBLISH settings for the selected map

      Note: If you are publishing a private map, the Get the link and Embed it options are disabled.

    3. Optionally, there is a shortcut to change your map privacy directly from the publishing options

      Enterprise privacy shortcut from publishing options

    4. Click UPDATE to update the timestamp and refresh the URL links

      Note: If the map has never been published, this button appears as PUBLISH.

    5. Click DONE to close the publishing options and return to the Builder

      The map includes a timestamp of the last time it was published. If you apply any changes to your map and need to update it, click the PUBLISH button to repeat this procedure. Alternatively, click the privacy setting (located underneath the map name) to open the SHARE WITH COLLEAGUES and PUBLISH options.