What happens after my trial expires?
Your trial account with CARTO lasts for 30 days. After the trial has expired, when you attempt to log into your account, you will see a message like this:
What does a locked account mean for you?
When your account locks, you will not be able to access your data or maps. Any externally facing Builder links that you shared will no longer work. Any CARTO.js or CARTO VL apps that you have made will no longer function. Any API workflows you have set up will no longer work.
Your data will still exist in CARTO for the next 60 days. In order to reactivate your account, and restore your service, you will need to select the option to
add a payment method. Once you have done this, you will be on a paid plan, billed monthly.
If you choose to not enter a payment method before the 60 days is up, your account, and all the data associated with it, will be deleted. There is no way for CARTO to recover accounts once they have been deleted.
Read this article to learn how to download your data and maps from your account.
If you are a student, please contact email@example.com.